Finished the first draft!

What has 121,808 words, 577 printed pages, and 42 chapters?

My latest manuscript!

FROZEN HEARTS is a Dark Fantasy Romance, and although the genre does have a high word count, it really shouldn’t be this high, but I’ll be fixing that through editing. So far, I’ve managed to bring it down to about 119K, but that was just cutting out the crutch words that shouldn’t be in there in the first place – next is my trusty ProWriting Aid, which I use on each chapter, one by one.

It’s strange though, because as soon as I finished the first draft, my heart fell at what came next – not the editing, since I love that part, but the dreaded query, synopsis, taglines, pitches…all of that just brings me down so low that it’s difficult to stay happy about it. If I had money, I’d hire someone to write those for me lol.

But before those (or, during), I’ll need to find Beta Readers who are interested in reading it…When I say it’s a “Dark” Fantasy Romance, I mean it’s brutal and hard – lots of difficult subject matter, but it does have a Happy Every After ending (it has to since it’s romance!), but it’s not for the faint of heart. So my hunt quest will begin from here on out.

I’m still editing my paranormal mystery MY SOUL TO GIVE with the help of two fantastic editors, and an author who has brought this story to its very best by suggesting fantastic ideas on making it shine more. I’m also planning on breaking my rule to not participate in writing contests – I’m entering Nightmare on Query Street! Back in 2014, I entered this manuscript in its first contest, which happened to be NOQS, so to me, it’s like coming back full circle after rewriting it for the third time, and editing it 69 times (I’m not kidding! lol). I might not get in again, but it would feel awesome to be able to submit it again after a year has passed, and my manuscript has grown into something I’m proud of 🙂

So to all those entering NOQS October 15th – good luck!

And if anyone is interested in being a future Beta Reader for my latest manuscript, send me a message/comment 😀

5 thoughts on “Finished the first draft!

      1. woah! that’s really good – 20K in 2 weeks! 😀

        well, hopefully there aren’t too many delays, but in my opinion, it’s better to miss out of a contest to get all the possible feedback/critique/editing possible, rather than enter unprepared 😉 Still, hope you can enter – it would be awesome! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

