Publishing vs. Writing Tips #Publishing #WriteTip

Often, I’ll read publishing tips, and then read the complete opposite in a writing tip. Sometimes it’s kind of funny, but other times it becomes, well…let’s say, frustrating.

I guess what can be annoying is when people throw writing tips when you got a rejection or didn’t get into a contest. One doesn’t really match up to the other, so it just gets most writers angrier instead of helping.

What do I mean by that? Well, here are a few examples of opposites:

 

Writing: “Write what you want!”
Publishing: “Check the market because if you write in a genre that’s oversaturated, you probably won’t get published.”
Me: “So, don’t really write what you want if your dream is to get published. Check out what’s popular, then write in that category and genre, or hope that you’re brilliant enough that the market trend won’t matter.”

 

Writing: “Pay attention to critiques, but remember that in the end, it’s your story.”
Publishing: “Careful about trends, and make sure you read all the other stories in your genre so that you can compare to what’s actually being published.”
Me: “Listen to the critiques and change your whole story if you want it to fit in with market trends – especially if you haven’t been published yet.”

 

Writing: “Just write your story!”
Publishing: “Ten things agents and publishers don’t want to see anymore:”
Me: “I see so many of these that I wouldn’t even be able to list them all. So be sure to read up on all of them before you write your story or revision might be a bitch!”

 

Writing: “It only takes one yes.”
Publishing: “Read a query – exciting, but the genre isn’t good in the market right now – pass.”
Me: “True, but it might never be for that manuscript you worked so hard on.”

 

Writing: “There aren’t any wins or loses in writing contests.”
Publishing: “Check out all these fabulous entries who got in – they’re all so amazing!”
Me: “We all win something by entering these contests, but in the end, there are writers who are picked and those who aren’t. I’m not from that generation that had to be given medals just for participating, so I know that there are winners and others who aren’t (though I’ve never liked using the word ‘loser’ either).”

 

Writing: “Authors are writers who never gave up.”
Publishing: “The manuscript didn’t really get me excited, but feel free to send us other works.”
Me: “Don’t give up, but maybe give up that particular manuscript you’ve worked so hard on. Please try again.”

 

Ok, so I think you get the gist of it by now. Some of these may be a little over the top, but they’re basically there to show examples.

Now, don’t get me wrong: publishing is hard, and I seriously bow down to agents and publishers! They do great work, and let’s face it, this industry is so subjective! But that’s not the point of my blog – I’m not here to bash publishing in any way! My point is just that, when you read that a writer is feeling down about not getting published, sometimes, offering writing tips isn’t the best of things to do – try more for publishing info instead 😉

 

Do you have examples on a writing tip you read that didn’t match up with publishing tips? I’d love you to share them! 🙂

By stormowl7

7 comments on “Publishing vs. Writing Tips #Publishing #WriteTip

  1. I don’t take advice too seriously, at least from those who are always claiming they ‘know’ the market or blah blah. I follow my heart when I write. If I end up writing something that the market is oversaturated with, so be it. I’ll self-publish. At the end of the day, if you’re not happy when you write… then don’t write.

    Liked by 1 person

    • For sure I would never write for trends – I don’t even think I could if I wanted to. Problem is, a lot of people suggest the self-publishing route, but that’s not my route, and it’s certainly not for everyone, so for those of us who can’t, we’re in a sort of “stuck”

      Like

  2. Then you’ve missed the point. All of your assumptions are completely incorrect. Let’s take an example here. Twilight was released many years ago. Guess what happened? Suddenly all those fan girls over hyped and the industry became inundated with paranormal romance. Twilight was the trend starter. The reprecussion? The market swelled and now readers just kinda roll their eyes up with anything similar to Twilight. So if you’re one of those unlucky people currently writing PNR your story will have to be REALLY GOOD.

    Does that mean you should give up on your PNR? No!! It just means you have to wait for the market to settle. Could be in one year. Could be in two.

    Think about your own reading tastes. You read a book like Hunger Games. Suddenly dystopian YA is YOUR THING… and then you get sick of reading it. But give it some time and suddenly you’ll find that your interests have changed.

    Maybe one day you don’t like horror but then suddenly you read something and HORROR NOW, BABY!

    The market is no different. If your story isn’t selling, stick it under your bed and give it a few years. OR better yet: be PERSISTENT! Just keep trying. Send it out, send it out. You could be the spark that reignites the rage!

    Like

    • While I have to disagree with some of your opinions about trends, those were just given as examples for showing some of the oppositions of writing tips versus publishing advice. The point to this post wasn’t about trends, just my opinion on the difference between offering writing and publishing thoughts.

      I do plan on eventually writing a post about trends, but it would be a lot longer, and this one, in particular, I just wanted to make a point that sometimes, when trying to cheer up writers who’ve received rejections or didn’t get in contests, offering writing advice isn’t always the best thing. In my opinion, I’ve often found that offering publishing advice instead, not only is better because it’s more pertinent but also is factual and helps with deciding paths to take when deciding to publish.

      For me, writing vs publishing is a little like dreaming vs reality.

      Like

  3. Oh btw, forgot to add: DO NOT write to trends. Dear lord don’t do it. So you read that Twilight novel, it takes a year to finish and edit. Guess what, no one wants that Twilight book because the market is oversaturated. It’s like “Girl, that was popular like SO FIVE MINUTES ago.”

    Just write the story that is in your heart.

    Like

  4. It’s been a conundrum for me. Not whether to write, but whether to submit what I’ve written. Of course I’ll write. But does what I’ve written match what the market wants? Sometimes you have to submit to know.

    Liked by 1 person

    • very true!

      and yet, sometimes, with certain genres, you know the odds aren’t in your favor, but still, I try despite paranormal being hard to market.

      I just find it ironic that writing tips and publishing advice often seems to be rather opposite from each other. Sometimes, it can get annoying too, but in the end, I guess following the right tips/advice depends on which stage you’re at 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

